Promoting your book in your home town…

Man it has been a while since I updated my blog.  I have been deep into a basement renovation project which is now, happily to say, almost done.

Just a few comments on promoting your book in your home town.  I think the idea has merit…unless you live in Uxbridge, Ontario.  I have found zero interest in my home town!

We have two papers, The Uxbridge Times and Cosmos.  The Times didn’t return any of my phone calls, and Cosmos after the third inquiry FINALLY replied – “Are you a high school or college student?”  What does that have to do with writing a book?  After I replied, they are silent once more.

The other venues in my home town that I had available were the public library and an independent bookstore.  So far, after multiple visits, I have yet to speak with the owner of the bookstore where I did leave the copy of my book with my phone number inside – again no response.

I must be missing something, but for the life of me can’t figure it out.  I have been polite and professional in all my phone calls and correspondence…

What have your experiences been like?  What suggestions might you have for getting noticed in your home town?

Looking forward to comments.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.